SBI IFSC, MICR Code & Addresses in India

To initiate a transaction, people must have an IFSC (Indian Financial System Code) to transfer money utilising services like RTGS, NEFT, IMPS, and internet banking. Therefore, using the correct IFSC code for a smooth cash transfer is essential.

When you perform an electronic transaction like NEFT, the system identifies an SBI bank branch by its 11-digit SBI IFSC code. Each bank branch of a specific bank has a unique alphanumeric code. 

For instance, the IFSC code for the SBI branch in Atta Chowk Noida is SBIN0030497, whereas the code for the branch in Chandni chowk is SBIN0020279.

The initial four letters of the 11-digit number, “SBIN,” stand for the bank’s name, State Bank of India. The following character, “0,” is for convenience, while the following six characters constitute the unique branch code for the relevant bank.

SBI entered a merger agreement recently. As part of this merger, it joined forces with five affiliates and one other bank. As a result, SBI recently altered the IFSC codes of certain branches. The bank changed the IFSC codes for its 1,300 branches as part of this procedure.

What is IFSC? How to Obtain it?

Indian Financial System Code, often known as IFSC, is a combination lock consisting of letters and numbers. The financial system requires using these characters to transfer money between bank accounts. 

To facilitate fund transfers in India, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) issues this code to each bank. The State Bank of India prints the IFSC and MICR codes on the bank’s chequebook, so anyone looking for them can find them there. It is also available on SBI’s website and a few other financial portals and comparison websites for taxes.

Google also shows the branch’s IFSC code, MICR code, phone number, and other information if you ask for it with the name and correct address.

What is MICR? How to Obtain it?

Magnetic Ink Character Recognition, or MICR, is used to confirm the authenticity of paper documents, particularly checks, to speed up the processing of the papers and their clearance. The internet and the SBI websites contain these as well. 

Merger Of Other Banks IN SBI

SBI has relocated up to 125 branches as part of the merging process. At times the SBI bank has taken over the branches of the merging banks, and as a result, the bank has changed the IFSC codes of various branches. 

SBI amalgamated with a number of its associate banks, which is why the SBI IFSC code have changed. To make the transfer process smoother for clients, SBI has already internally swapped the old with the IFSC codes new IFSC codes.

What is NEFT?

SBI offers National Electronic Funds Transfer. It is an electronic cash transfer service. This makes sending money simple, convenient, and hassle-free. The branch does not have a maximum transaction limit for NEFT transactions. However, the daily cap for Netbanking service is ₹10 lakh. 

What is RTGS?

RTGS is an additional fast way of money transfer where the platform carries out the transfers in real-time. Because there are no interbank or clearing house settlement concerns, RTGS transactions have quicker settlement cycles. Additionally, India’s national borders do not restrict these transactions. Therefore, transaction limitations do not apply to transactions made through any branch.

What is IMPS?

SBI also provides a quick bank-to-bank electronic payment transfer service called IMPS (Immediate Payment Service). Customers may quickly send and receive money via IMPS during business hours, weekends, and public holidays. As the name implies, IMPS transfers allow for quick crediting of funds to the recipient’s account.


Whatever the transaction between branches or accounts, the IFSC code is significant. It is the primary identification number for various branches and is a must before initiating a transaction. The process to obtain the IFSC and MICR code is, however, very easy.