DMAIC explained: Using Six Sigma in Quality Management

When you hear the term “Six Sigma,” what comes to mind? Most likely, you imagine a team of engineers and scientists working tirelessly to improve the quality of products. But Six Sigma is more than just a quality-focused approach. In fact, it’s a system that can be used in any business or organization. In this blog post, we will explore what Six Sigma is and how it can help your business achieve better results. From process improvement to data analysis, read on to learn everything you need to know about dmaic six sigma in order to make it work for you.

What is DMAIC?

DMAIC is a Six Sigma methodology that focuses on problem solving and process improvement. DMAIC stands for Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, control.

Define: Figure out what the problem is. This step should involve gathering data from all aspects of the process being improved and identifying any problems or deficiencies with the current process.

Measure: Track progress made on the problem solving by measuring specific outputs or factors that were targeted in the original definition phase. This measurement can help identify areas of success and failure.

Analyze: Look at the data collected in step two to see where improvements can be made. Based on this analysis, create a plan of action to address identified deficiencies.

Improve: Implement changes to the process based on the analysis conducted in step three. continually track results to ensure that the changes are effective in improving overall quality performance.

The Five Core Processes of DMAIC Six Sigma

The Six Sigma Processes of DMAIC are:define the problem; develop a solution; measure and control the solution; analyze and improve the process; and converge on the best solution.

DMAIC begins by defining the problem. This can be as simple as understanding what needs to be improved and how it can be done. Once the problem is defined, a solution must be developed. Solutions may take various forms, but all must reflect the specific needs of the situation. Solutions must then be measured and controlled in order to ensure that they are effective. Finally, continuous improvement is necessary in order to maintain a high level of quality throughout an organization’s operations.

The lean manufacturing process is one of the most important concepts in business today. It’s a set of principles and techniques that help organizations reduce waste, increase efficiency, and improve quality. But what is the DMAIC process, and where does it fit into the lean manufacturing scheme? In this blog post, we will introduce you to the five phases of the DMAIC process, and why you should know about them. 


The DMAIC process is a lean management framework that has eight steps: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control, and Communicate. Each step helps improve the efficiency of a company’s operations.

The first step in the DMAIC process is to define the problem. In order to measure progress and make improvements, you need to know what needs fixing. You can’t fix something if you don’t understand it. So in the second step of the DMAIC process, you measure your results against your goals. This allows you to see where you are succeeding and where you need more improvement.

After you have measured your results and identified where you need improvement, the third step is to analyze what went wrong. By understanding why your results were off from your targets, you can better identify how to fix it.

In the fourth step, you improve upon whatever was found in step three. This will help reduce resistance and ensure that your changes are successful. It’s important to stay focused on what needs to be fixed rather than getting caught up in trying new things all at once.

The fifth step is control – making sure that your changes are applied correctly and that they continue to produce positive results. It’s also important to communicate your findings so that everyone involved knows what’s going on and why it matters.

The final step of the DMAIC process is communication – sharing progress with stakeholders so they can see how their input has helped


The lean six sigma continuous improvement methodology is a well-known tool for business improvement. The methodology has five phases: problem identification, solution development, implementation, evaluation and continual improvement. 

  • Problem Identification: This phase is focused on understanding the business problem and its contributors. This involves gathering data from all relevant sources to identify the root cause of problems.
  • Solution Development: In this phase, the team creates a solution that addresses the identified problem. Solutions can be technical or non-technical in nature and can be implemented through various methods such as training, process redesign or change management.
  • Implementation: In this phase, the solution is put into action and monitored for effectiveness. Any necessary adjustments are made based on results obtained in the previous two phases.
  • Evaluation: In this phase, the team evaluates whether or not the solution achieved its intended goals. This includes measuring results against predetermined baselines and taking into account any feedback received from stakeholders during implementation or after it was completed. Continuous improvement efforts continue in this phase until problems are eliminated or solved to an acceptable level.


Understanding the goals of lean sigma is essential to understanding the DMAIC process. There are five key goal areas:

1. reducing waste

2. improving quality

3. increasing efficiency

4. creating customer value

5. sustaining competitive advantage


There are several phases in the DMAIC process, and each phase has specific tactics that should be used.

  • The first phase is problem identification. In this phase, you identify the problems that your business is experiencing and try to find a solution to them.
  • The second phase is problem solving. During this phase, you work on finding a solution to the identified problems.
  • The third phase is implementation. In this phase, you put the solution into practice and make sure it works as planned.
  • The fourth and final phase is evaluation. After implementing the solution and seeing how it goes, you evaluate whether it was successful or not.


When it comes to creating superior results, there is no substitute for a well-executed DMAIC process. Here is a quick overview of the six phases:

1. Define the problem

2. Measure and analyze the situation

3. Assess what can be done

4. Choose an approach

5. Commit to action

6. Control